Sunday, January 17, 2016

This week in monetary policy: Turkey, Kenya, Canada, Brazil, Paraguay, Malaysia and the euro area

    This week (January 18 through January 23) central banks from 7 countries or jurisdictions are scheduled to decide on monetary policy: Turkey, Kenya, Canada, Brazil, Paraguay, Malaysia and the euro area.
    Following table includes the name of the country, the date of the next policy decision, the current policy rate, the result of the last policy decision, the change in the policy rate year to date, the rate one year ago, and the country’s MSCI classification.
    The table is updated when the latest decisions are announced and can always accessed by clicking on This Week.

JAN 18-JAN 23, 2016:
COUNTRY       DATE           RATE      LATEST        YTD     1 YR AGO    MSCI
TURKEY 19-Jan 7.50% 0 0 7.75%       EM
KENYA 20-Jan 11.50% 0 0 8.50%       FM
CANADA 20-Jan 0.50% 0 0 0.75%       DM
BRAZIL 20-Jan 14.25% 0 0 12.25%       EM
PARAGUAY 20-Jan 5.75% 0 0 6.75%
MALAYSIA 21-Jan 3.25% 0 0 3.25%       EM
EURO AREA 21-Jan 0.05% 0 0 0.05%       DM


  1. It is not EURO AREA, it is European Union. There are countries in Europe that are not a part of EU and there are countries that are a part of EU but have kept their own currency(Great Britain for example). And that is all within Euro Area.
    So, 0.05% is only true for countries within EU and have Euro as their currency.

    1. Sorry if there is any confusion but the euro area is the official description of the 19 countries that have adopted the euro and whose monetary policy is therefore set by the ECB. The larger European Union (EU) currently comprises 28 nations and includes all the 19 euro area nations plus such countries as the UK, Poland and Denmark that have not adopted the euro and are therefore not part of the smaller euro area.